TOY finalists named

More than 600 Dallas ISD team members gathered recently to celebrate excellence in teaching and recognize the 237 campus teachers of the year at a fun event sponsored by the Dallas Education Foundation, Dallas County, and Central Market. The nine finalists for Dallas ISD Teacher of the Year were introduced.

“Over the past eight weeks, our Human Capital, School Leadership, and Teaching & Learning teams have combed through nearly 250 essays from over 80 applicants,” said Superintendent Stephanie Elizalde. “With so many talented, dedicated educators, it wasn’t easy to pick just one. After all, I think Dallas ISD has the best teachers, so these finalists are the best of the best.”

As in past years, this year’s TOY finalists will compete for three Dallas ISD Teacher of the Year honors, and two will move forward to compete at the regional and state levels.

TOY finalists

Elementary (prekindergarten-fifth grade)

Ivan Medina, Herbert Marcus Leadership Academy

Ebony Garrett, Umphrey Lee Elementary School

Mia Witt, César Chávez Elementary School

Secondary (sixth-12th grades)

Angela Burley, Dr. Frederick Douglass Todd Sr. Middle School

Laura Treviño, W.E. Greiner Exploratory Arts Academy

Kayleigh Overman-Fassel, Emmett J. Conrad High School

Bobby Bailey, Billy Earl Dade Middle School

Choice, Magnet (all levels)

Jonatan Joshua Cruz Cardona, School for the Talented and Gifted at Pleasant Grove

Nancy Salas, Henry W. Longfellow Career Exploration Academy

In addition to celebrating the campus teachers of the year, the event also recognized 136 Teachers of Promise.

“For the first time, we are honoring our Teachers of Promise,” said Chief of School Leadership Tiffany Huitt. “We know that it’s not only the experienced teachers who make a difference. Dallas ISD has rockstar novice teachers! Teachers of Promise sought out feedback to improve their instructional practices, built intentional relationships, and made their mark on students and colleagues as novice teachers.”

You may also like